Air & Space, McDonald’s, the Metro, Duck Boats, Shopping, Taxicabs

6 07 2007

Now that my daughter is here with me, I’m seeing DC in a whole different light. Little things that I may not have even noticed before now are the determining factors on whether or not things go smoothly for us.

Here are my thumbs up and thumbs down of DC (just from the past two days.)

Smithsonian Air & Space Museum

Even though it’s not a hands on kind of museum, there are enough airplanes and spacecraft to keep young eyes wandering and young minds engaged. Free. Clean. Air Conditioned. Easy Metro access.

McDonald’s @ the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum

This McDonald’s is unlike any other I’ve been to. There are lanes. You choose a lane and order. Then you move further down the lane, and you pay. By the time you get to the end of the lane, your food is ready and waiting for you. Plenty of seating, clean, and with glass walls and ceiling, there is plenty of light.

the Metro

Clean. Cheap. Kids under 5 are free. Elevators at most stations, and when the escalators are working and we choose to use them, it’s exciting for the peanut. Oh yeah, and what kid doesn’t like trains?

DC Duckboat tours

I wanted to take her on a Duck Boat tour today. I went on the website, but every time I tried to click through to purchase tickets, the page would come up as not found. Ok, so I found a phone number and called. The woman recommended going to Union Station right the the duckboat counter. I explained that I’d hate to go all that way to find out it was sold out, but she said they never sold out. Peanut and I get to Union Station, and they are sold out for today. Ok fine. I’ll buy tickets for tomorrow. No such luck, they don’t sell them in advance. Thumbs down because website was down, and it’s inconvenient to trek halfway across the city with a 3 1/2 year old to find out that they are sold out.

McDonald’s @ Union Station

No clear lines, so you have to figure out where you’re supposed to be. I ordered a cheeseburger happy meal for peanut with milk and apples (instead of fries.) They give me an empty cup for her drink. I have to fight my way back over and ask for milk. We get to our seat. I open up her happy meal. Fries. I have to go back and get apples. Then I go to the machine to get my soda. It’s flat. I proceed to try the other two machines. Both flat as well.

Strollers

Why can I not find a place to purchase a small umbrella stroller in this city? There are no Targets, WalMarts, etc. in the city. I call every conceivable store I can think of at Pentagon City that I think would have them. Nothing. Is there a ToysRUs in DC? No. I probably spent an hour looking for something. I’m SURE there are small stores.. boutique stores.. something in this city that carries them. But where? Shouldn’t I just be able to Google it? (God I can’t wait until they finish the Target two blocks from me! One stop shopping!) Thumbs down because I think it should be easier to find these kinds of things.

Taxicabs

How come I can’t find out anywhere rules on bringing children / toddlers in taxicabs? Can you just bring a 3 1/2 year old in a cab? Or do you need a car seat? How does this work? I looked on the taxicab commissioner’s website, and I couldn’t find anything. I looked on the DC tourism site, and couldn’t find anything. This is a thumbs down not because I don’t know the answer to the question, but because I think it should be easier to find the answer to this question.

Those are some of the things on my mind today. If you have comments, feel free to leave. Especially if you have tips/tricks for living in DC with a 3 1/2 year old!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

